Ain't It Funky Now!

Various Artists

Initial release : 2002

Beat Goes Public

This collection includes three Charles Earland tracks, two with Maynard Parker on guitar, and a Melvin Sparks track with Leon Spencer on organ. Also includes two Gene Ammons tracks with Sonny Phillips on organ and Idris Muhammad and Leon Spencer tracks with Melvin Sparks on guitar. Also includes a Charles Kynard track with Rusty Bryant on saxophone, a Freddie McCoy track, a Joe Jones track with Charles Earland on organ and Rusty Bryant on saxophone, and a Rusty Bryant track with Leon Spencer on organ and Wilbert Longmire on guitar.

Tracks / Performers

  • Fire Eater - Rusty Bryant
  • Who's Gonna Take the Weight - Melvin Sparks
  • Super Bad - Idris Muhammad
  • Sister Janie - Funk Inc
  • Don't Knock My Love - Idris Muhammad
  • Jungle Strut - Gene Ammons
  • Right On - Boogaloo Joe Jones
  • Black Talk - Charles Earland
  • Thank You, Pt. 1 - Melvin Sparks
  • Express Yourself - Idris Muhammad
  • Message from the Meters - Leon Spencer
  • Son of a Preacher Man - Gene Ammons
  • Reelin' With the Feelin' - Charles Kynard
  • Sing a Simple Song - Charles Earland
  • Listen Here, Pt. 1 - Freddie McCoy
  • Girl You Need a Change of Mind - Charles Earland
  • I Want You Back - Harold Mabern
  • Son of Man - Houston Person
Related releases

Black Talk was originally released on;

Sing A Simple Song was originally released on; Girl You Need A Change Of Mind was originally released on; Who's Gonna Take the Weight was originally released on; Message From The Meters was originally released on; Fire Eater was originally released on; Super Bad and Express Yourself was originally released on; Jungle Strut and Son Of A Preacher Man were originally released on; Right On was originally released on; Listen Here, Pt 1 was released on a single and is an edited version of Listen Here which was released on an LP:
  • Listen Here, Pt 1 / Listen Here, Pt 2, Freddie McCoy, 1968
  • Listen Here, Freddie McCoy, 1968
Reelin' With The Feelin' was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover