tracks / musicians related releases

Black Roots: Funky & Abstract Directions In Jazz 1965-1975

Various Artists

Initial release : 2001


This compilation includes a Shirley Scott track with David Newman on saxophone, a David Newman track, and a Duke Pearson track with Harold Vick on saxophone.

Tracks / Musicians

  • I Walk On Gilded Splinters - Dr John
  • Jagger The Dagger - Gene McDaniels
  • The Windjammer - Mongo Santamaria
  • Its Your Thing - Shirley Scott
  • Foxy Brown - David Newman
  • Mean Greens - Eddie Harris
  • See Line Women - Yusef Lateef
  • The Fakir - Duke Pearson
  • Raga Megha - Joe Harriott/John Mayer Double Quintet
  • Witchi Tai To - Jim Pepper
  • Sufur - Rufus Harley
  • Black Root - Roland Kirk
Related release

It's Your Thing was originally released on;

Hard Times was originally released on: The Fakir was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover