tracks / musicians related releases

Blue Break Beats, Vol. 1

Various Artists

Initial release : 1993

Blue Note

This compilation includes two Grant Green tracks (one with Harold Vick on saxophone and one with William Bivens on vibes), a Richard "Groove" Holmes track, two Lou Donaldson tracks with Melvin Sparks on guitar and Charles Earland on organ, a Donald Byrd track with Jimmy Ponder on guitar and a Jimmy McGriff track with Thornel Schwartz on guitar. The vinyl version includes a Lonnie Smith track that is omitted from the CD release.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Groovin' For Mr. G - Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • Sookie, Sookie - Grant Green
  • Chunky - Ronnie Foster *
  • Who's Making Love? - Lou Donaldson
  • Weasil - Donald Byrd
  • Kudu - Eddie Henderson
  • Harlem River Drive - Bobbi Humphrey
  • Move Your Hands - Lonnie Smith *
  • Blue Juice - Jimmy McGriff
  • The Final Comedown - Grant Green
  • Turtle Walk - Lou Donaldson
  • Your Love Is Too Much - Three Sounds
  • Blackjack - Donald Byrd
  • Shu Shu - Ike Quebec *
  • Olilloqui Valley - Herbie Hancock
* only on double vinyl version, omitted from CD

Related release

Sookie, Sookie was originally released on;

The Final Comedown was originally released on; Groovin' For Mr. G was originally released on; Who's Making Love and Turtle Walk were originally released on; Move Your Hand was originally released on; Blue Juice was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover