tracks / musicians related releases

Blue Break Beats, Vol. 2

Various Artists

Initial release : 1993 (CD 1994)

Blue Note

This compilation includes a Grant Green track, a Reuben Wilson track with Melvin Sparks on guitar, a Lou Donaldson track with Melvin Sparks on guitar, a Jimmy McGriff track with Thornel Schwartz on guitar. The vinyl version includes a Lonnie Smith track and a Lou Donaldson track with Leon Spencer on organ and Ted Dunbar on guitar. Both these tracks are omitted from the CD release.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Street Lady - Donald Byrd
  • Jasper Country Man - Bobbi Humphrey
  • Kumquat Kids - Eddie Henderson
  • Higga Boom - Gene Harris
  • Orange Peel - Reuben Wilson
  • The Worm - Jimmy McGriff
  • The Caterpillar - Lou Donaldson
  • Pot Belly - Lou Donaldson *
  • Ain't It Funky Now - Grant Green
  • Spinning Wheel - Lonnie Smith *
  • Ummh - Bobby Hutcherson
  • Good Humour Man - Blue Mitchell
  • Beale Street - Donald Byrd
  • Viva Tirado - Gerald Wilson
  • The Phantom - Duke Pearson
* only on double vinyl version, omitted from CD

Related release

Ain't It Funky Now was originally released on;

The Caterpillar was originally released on; Orange Peel was originally released on; Spinning Wheel was originally released on; Pot Belly was originally released on; The Worm was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover