tracks / musicians related releases

Blue Break Beats, Vol. 3

Various Artists

Initial release : 1996 (CD 1997)

Blue Note

This compilation includes a Reuben Wilson track, and Lou Donaldson tracks with Melvin Sparks or Jimmy Ponder on guitar and Charles Earland or Lonnie Smith on organ. The vinyl version includes a Grant Green track with William Bivens on vibes that is omitted from the CD.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Walk Tall - Cannonball Adderley
  • You've Made Me So Very Happy - Lou Rawls
  • Ode to Billie Joe - Lou Donaldson
  • Sho' Nuff Melon - Reuben Wilson
  • Howling for Judy - Jeremy Steig
  • Light My Fire - Shirley Bassey
  • It's Your Thing - Lou Donaldson
  • Put On Train - Gene Harris and the Three Sounds
  • Flat Backing - Blue Mitchell *
  • Down Here On The Ground - Grant Green *
  • Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey - Gene Harris
  • Blacks & Blues - Bobbi Humphrey *
  • (Fallin' Like) Dominoes - Donald Byrd
  • Mystic Brew - Ronnie Foster
  • Get Out of My Life Woman - Joe Williams
  • Going Down South - Bobby Hutcherson *
  • Ground Hog - Duke Pearson
  • Soul - Jackie McLean
* only on double vinyl version, omitted from CD

Related release

It's Your Thing was originally released on;

Ode To Billie Joe was originally released on; Down Here On The Ground was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover