tracks / musicians related releases

Blue Note Rare Grooves

Various Artists

Initial release : 1996

Blue Note

This compilation includes a Jack McDuff track, a Richard "Groove" Holmes track, a Jimmy McGriff track, a Reuben Wilson track (Hot Rod) with Grant Green on guitar and another Reuben Wilson track (Bus Ride) with Melvin Sparks on guitar. Also includes Andrew Hill and Big John Patton tracks with Jimmy Ponder on guitar, a Stanley Turrentine track with Shirley Scott on organ and Jimmy Ponder on guitar and a Larry Young track with George Benson on guitar and Eddie Gladden on drums.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Bus Ride - Reuben Wilson
  • Hunk O' Funk - Jack McDuff
  • Hot Rod - Reuben Wilson
  • The Bird Wave - Jimmy McGriff
  • Boogaloo - Stanley Turrentine
  • Heaven on Earth - Larry Young
  • Black Rhythm Happening - Eddie Gale
  • String Bean - Big John Patton
  • Groovin' for Mr. G - Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • 'Round Town - Elvin Jones
  • Soul Special - Andrew Hill
  • Blackjack - Donald Byrd
  • Serenade to a Savage - Candido
Related release

Hunk O' Funk was originally released on;

Groovin' For Mr. G was originally released on; The Bird Wave was originally released on; Hot Rod was originally released on; Bus Ride was originally released on; Boogaloo was originally released on;
  • Common Touch, Stanley Turrentine featuring Shirley Scott, 1968
Heaven On Earth was originally released on; Soul Special was first released on this compilation. It was subsequently included on the 2000 CD version of;
Buy from

album cover