tracks / musicians related releases

Chicago Soul: Electric Blues, Funk & Soul

Various Artists

Initial release : 2004

Soul Jazz

This compilation, subtitled The New Sound Of Chicago In The 1960's, includes a Sonny Cox track with Ken Prince on organ and a Lorez Alexandria track with George Eskridge on guitar.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Evil - Howlin' Wolf
  • Another Sugar Daddy - Bo Diddley
  • Tell Mama - Etta James
  • Stereo Freeze - The Stereos
  • Burning Spear - The Soulful Strings
  • Party Time - Ramsey Lewis
  • Please Newsboy - Eve Barnum
  • Soul Vibrations - Dorothy Ashby
  • More and More - Little Milton
  • Baltimore Oriole - Lorez Alexandria
  • Why Am I Treated So Bad - Majestic Choir & The Soul Stirrers
  • The Way I Feel - Phil Upchurch
  • She Suits Me to a Tee - Buddy Guy
  • Memory Band - Rotary Connection
  • You Got It - Etta James
  • I Just Want to Make Love to You - Muddy Waters
  • Mama's Got a Good Thing - Laura Lee
  • The Wailer - Sonny Cox
  • In My Body's House - Gene Chandler
  • Leave It in the Hands of Love - Fontella Bass
Related release

The Wailer was originally released on;

Baltimore Oriole was originally released on a single and an LP;
  • Baltimore Oriole / Mother Earth, Lorez Alexandria, 1963
  • For Swingers Only, Lorez Alexandria, 1963
Soul Vibrations was originally released on; The Way I Feel was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover