tracks / musicians related releases

Funky Beats

Various Artists

Initial release : 1994


This compilation includes a Melvin Sparks track with Leon Spencer on organ and Leon Spencer, Idris Muhhamad and Sonny Stitt tracks with Melvin Sparks on guitar. Sonny Phillips plays organ on the Gene Ammons track and Leon Spencer plays organ on the Sonny Stitt track. Also includes a Joe Jones track with Charles Earland on organ and Rusty Bryant on saxophone, a Bernard Purdie track with Lloyd Davis on guitar, a Bernard Purdie track with Ted Dunbar on guitar, a Johnny "Hammond" Smith track with Rusty Bryant on saxophone and Wally Richardson on guitar, and two Joe Dukes tracks with the Jack McDuff quartet.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Theme from Shaft - Bernard Purdie
  • Spark Plug - Melvin Sparks
  • Soul Talk - Johnny "Hammond" Smith
  • First Gravy - Leon Spencer
  • Super Bad - Idris Muhammad
  • Purdie Good - Bernard Prudie
  • Moohah the D.J. - Joe Dukes
  • Jungle Strut - Gene Ammons
  • Soulful Drums - Joe Dukes
  • Brown Bag - Joe Jones
  • The Bar-B-Que Man - Sonny Stitt
Related release

Spark Plug was originally released on;

The Bar-B-Que Man was originally released on; First Gravy was originally released on; Super Bad was originally was released on; Jungle Strut was originally released on; Brown Bag was originally released on; Soul Talk was originally released on; Moohah The DJ and Soulful Drums were released on; Theme From Shaft was originally released on;
  • Shaft, Bernard Purdie, 1973
Purdie Good was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover