tracks / musicians related releases

Funky Milestones

Various Artists

Initial release : 1997


This compilation includes a Jimmy Ponder track, a Jimmy McGriff track, a Melvin Sparks track with Leon Spencer on organ, a Bernard Purdie track with Lloyd Davis on guitar, an Idris Muhhamad with Melvin Sparks on guitar, and a Lou Donaldson track with Melvin Sparks on guitar and Lonnie Smith on organ.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Funky President (People It's Bad) - James Brown
  • Super Freak - Rick James
  • A Real Mother for Ya - Johnny Watson
  • Blackbyrds' Theme - Blackbyrds
  • Word Up! - Cameo
  • Funkiest Body in Town - Spice
  • Billie Jean - Jimmy Ponder
  • Soul Mine - Average White Band
  • Le Freak - Chic
  • Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (From Now On) - Lou Donaldson
  • Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) - Melvin Sparks
  • Always There - Side Effect
  • Funky Junk - Jimmy McGriff
  • Let There Be Funk - Patrice Rushen
  • Glide - Pleasure
  • Kool Is Back - Inc. Funk
  • Cut the Cake - Average White Band
  • One Nation Under a Groove - Funkadelic
  • Move on Up - Curtis Mayfield
  • Last Train - Graham Central Station
  • Funk the Dumb Stuff - Tower of Power
  • If Anybody Gets Funked Up (It's Gonna Be You) - George Clinton
  • Boogie Wonderland - Earth, Wind & Fire
  • Stomp! - Brothers Johnson
  • Ants in Yo Pants - Inc. Funk
  • Goin' Bananas - Side Effect
  • Theme from Shaft - Bernard Purdie
  • Super Bad - Idris Muhammad
  • Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) - Larry Coryell
  • Boogie Town - Fat Larry's Band
  • Funk Ain't a Word - Bunky Green
  • Spooky - Pazant Brothers
Related releases

Billie Jean was originally released on;

Funky Junk was originally released on; Thank You was originally released on; Everything I Do Gonh Be Funky (From Now On) was originally released on; Super Bad was originally released on; Theme From Shaft was originally released on;
  • Shaft, Bernard Purdie, 1973
Buy from

album cover