tracks musicians related releases

The Great

Ray Charles

Original release : 1990


An expanded version of the 1957 album. The additional tracks were recorded at the same sessions and originally released on a 1961 album.


  • Dawn Ray
  • The Man I Love
  • Music Music Music
  • Black Coffee
  • The Ray
  • I Surrender Dear
  • Hornful Soul
  • Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Joy Ride
  • Sweet Sixteen Bars
  • Doodlin'
  • There's No You
  • Undecided
  • My Melancholy Baby

  • Ray Charles - piano, vocals
  • Joe Bridgewater - trumpet
  • John Hunt - trumpet
  • David Newman - tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
  • Emmett Dennis - baritone saxophone
  • Roosevelt Sheffield - bass
  • Oscar Pettiford - bass
  • William Peeples - drums
  • Joe Harris - drums
Related release

Black Coffee, The Ray, I Surrender Dear, Sweet Sixteen Bars, Doodlin', There's No You, Undecided and My Melancholy Baby were released on the original version of the LP:

Dawn Ray, The Man I Love, Music Music Music, Hornful Soul, Ain't Misbehavin' and Joy Ride were released on:
Buy from

album cover