tracks / musicians related releases

The Hip Walk: Jazz Undercurrents in 60s New York

Various Artists

Initial release : 2006

Beat Goes Public

This compilation includes a George Braith track with Grant Green and Eddie Diehl on guitar and Ben Dixon on drums, a Joe Dukes track with Jack McDuff on organ, two Johnny Lytle tracks, and a Willis Jackson track with Pat Martino on guitar and Joe Hadrick on drums.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Ca' Purange (Jungle Soul) - Gene Ammons
  • Nuther'n Like Thuther'n - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Selim - Johnny Lytle
  • Muscle Soul - Phil Upchurch
  • Ping Pong - Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers
  • Love Theme from "Spartacus" - Yusef Lateef
  • Brother John - Cannonball Adderley
  • Eastern Blues - Gary Bartz
  • The Kicker - Joe Henderson
  • Cantaloupe Woman - George Braith
  • The Soulful Drums - Joe Dukes
  • The Village Caller - Johnny Lytle
  • Lotus Blossom - Kenny Dorham
Related release

Cantaloupe Woman was originally released on;

The Soulful Drums was released on; Nuther'n Like Thuther'n was originally released on: The Village Caller was originally released on; Selim was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover