tracks / musicians related releases

Opus de Funk: The Jazz Giants Play Horace Silver

Various Artists

Initial release : 1997


This compilation includes one Brother Jack McDuff / Gene Ammons track with Harold Vick on saxophone, Eddie Diehl on guitar and Joe Dukes on drums, a Richard "Groove" Holmes track with Gene Edwards on guitar, two Shirley Scott tracks and a Wes Montgomery track with Melvin Rhyne on organ.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Cookin' at the Continental - Phineas Newborn
  • Buhaina - Milt Jackson
  • Ecaroh - Wes Montgomery
  • Filthy McNasty - Eddie Jefferson
  • Opus de Funk - Art Pepper
  • Sister Sadie - Ray Brown
  • Peace - Tommy Flanagan
  • Moon Rays - Vince Guaraldi and Bola Sete
  • Song for My Father - Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • Psychedelic Sally - Eddie Jefferson
  • Doodlin' - Ray Brown, Barney Kessel and Shelly Manne
  • Seņor Blues - Shirley Scott
  • Nica's Dream - Blue Mitchell
  • Strollin' - Jack McDuff/Gene Ammons
  • The Preacher - Eddie Jefferson
  • The Preacher - Shirley Scott
Related release

Strollin' was originally released on;

Senor Blues and The Preacher were originally released on; Song For My Father was originally released on; Ecaroh was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover