tracks / musicians related releases

LRC Jazz Sampler 4 & 5

Various Artists

Initial release : 1994


This compilation includes a Lonnie Smith track, a Jimmy Ponder track, a George Freeman track, a Jimmy McGriff/Richard "Groove" Holmes track, a Jimmy McGriff track with Jimmy Ponder on guitar, and a Buddy Rich/Jimmy McGriff track, credited to Illinois Jacquet, with George Freeman on guitar.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Caravan - Hank Jones
  • Cute - Jimmy McGriff Big Band
  • I Can't Get Started - Sonny Stitt and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis
  • Home Come'n - Lucky Thompson
  • It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) - Harry "Sweets" Edison and Jonah Jones
  • Seven Minds - Jimmy Ponder
  • Sweet Honey Wine - Lonnie Smith
  • I'll Take Romance - McCoy Tyner
  • Soft Winds - Illinois Jacquet
  • After You've Gone - Manny Albam
  • He Will Call Again - Dakota Staton
  • All in the Game - George Freeman
  • Love Ain't Nothin' But a Business Goin' On - Junior Parker
  • Prelude to a Kiss - Maynard Ferguson
  • Blues Based - Roland Hanna and McCoy Tyner
  • (Back Home Again In) Indiana - Stan Getz and Zoot Sims
  • Amen - Jimmy McGriff and Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • North Atlantic Run - Gerry Mulligan and Benny Carter
  • The Girl from Ipanema - Louis Armstrong
  • How Am I to Know - John Bunch and Bucky Pizzarelli
  • The Worm Turns - Jimmy McGriff
  • I Wonder Where Our Love Has Gone - Johnny Adams
  • I Say a Little Prayer - Woody Herman
  • Sweet Little Angel - Muddy Waters
  • Stormy Monday - T-Bone Walker
  • Theme - Art Blakey
  • Lament - Slide Hampton
  • Easy to Love - Cole Porter Collective
Related release

Sweet Honey Wine was originally released on;

Seven Minds was originally released on; Cute was originally released on: All In The Game was originally released on; Soft Winds, though credited to Illinois Jacquet, is taken from:
Buy from

album cover