tracks / musicians related releases

The Prestige Legacy, Vol. 2: The Battle of the Saxes

Various Artists

Initial release : 2000


This compilation includes an Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis track with Shirley Scott on organ and a Sonny Stitt track with Don Patterson on organ.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Battle of the Saxes - Al Cohn, Allen Eager, Stan Getz, Brew Moore and Zoot Sims
  • You Can Depend on Me - Gene Ammons
  • Scrapple from the Apple - Wardell Gray
  • Tenor Madness - Sonny Rollins
  • Kinda Kanonic - Gene Quill, Sahib Shihab, Hal Stein and Phil Woods
  • Windy Cindy - John Jenkins and Jackie McLean
  • Groove Blues - Gene Ammons
  • Lester Leaps In - Arnett Cobb, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Coleman Hawkins and Buddy Tate
  • Alto- Itis - Oliver Nelson
  • Dee Dee's Dance - Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and Johnny Griffin
  • Sonny's Book - Sonny Stitt
Related release

Lester Leaps In was originally released on;

  • Very Saxy, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis/Buddy Tate/Coleman Hawkins/Arnett Cobb, 1959 Sonny's Book was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover