Benson Burner

George Benson

Initial release : 1976


A double LP compilation of recordings from the mid-1960's taken from George Benson albums and Lonnie Smith albums with Benson on guitar. Lonnie Smith plays on some of the George Benson tracks. Melvin Sparks also plays on at least one Lonnie Smith track.


  • Bayou
  • Hammond's Bossa Nova
  • Willow Weep For Me
  • Clabber Biscuits
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Mama Wailer
  • Goodnight
  • The Man From Toledo
  • My Babe
  • Minor Truth
  • Slow Scene
  • Flamingo
  • Redwood City
  • The Cooker
  • Return Of The Prodigal Son
  • Push, Push
  • Benson's Rider
  • Doin' The Thing
  • Bright Eyes
  • Myna Bird Blues
  • What Do You Think
  • Keep Talkin'
  • Peg-Leg Jack
  • Jaguar
  • Hello Birdie
  • Ain't That Peculiar
  • Forevermore
Related releases

Bayou, The Cooker, Return Of The Prodigal Son and Benson's Rider were originally released on;

Willow Weep For Me, Myna Bird Blues, Jaguar, Hello Birdie, Ain't That Peculiar and Forevermore were originally released on; My Babe and Keep Talkin' were originally released on; The majority of the other tracks on this collection were recorded at the sessions for the 3 albums listed above but not included on the albums.

album cover