tracks / musicians related releases

Giants Of The Blues Tenor Sax/Giants Of The Funk Tenor Sax

Various Artists

Initial release : 1991


This 3 CD compilation includes two Rusty Bryant tracks, one with Melvin Sparks on guitar, an Al Sears track with Wally Richardson on guitar, an Illinois Jacquet track with Wally Richardson on guitar, a Houston Person track with Sonny Phillips on organ, two Willis Jackson tracks with Jack McDuff on organ, a Stanley Turrentine track with Lloyd Davis on guitar, a Gene Ammons track with Ted Dunbar on guitar, a Sonny Stitt track with Jack McDuff on organ and Eddie Diehl on guitar, and two Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis tracks with Shirley Scott on organ. This collection was probably originally released as two double LP albums.

Tracks / Musicians

CD 1;

  • No Kiddin' - Buddy Tate
  • Bolo Blues - Jimmy Forrest
  • Soul Blues - Coleman Hawkins
  • Smooth Sailing - Arnett Cobb
  • I'm Just a Lucky So and So - Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis
  • Light and Lovely - Coleman Hawkins, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Arnett Cobb and Buddy Tate
  • Blue Stompin' - Hal Singer
  • New Carnegie Blues - Al Sears
CD 2;
  • Soul Explosion, The - Frank Foster and Illinois Jacquet
  • Soul Street - Jimmy Forrest, King Curtis and Oliver Nelson
  • Record Hop - Al Sears
  • Midnight - Hal Singer
  • Hittin' the Jug - Gene Ammons
  • 'Nothin' Fu'ther - Sonny Sitt
  • Red Eye Special - Rusty Bryant and Seldon Powell
  • This'll Get to Ya - Willis "Gator" Jackson
CD 3;
  • Chains of Love - Houston Person/Babe Clarke
  • Wade in the Water - Johnny Griffin
  • Tu' Gether - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Walkin' - Stanley Turrentine
  • Goodness - Houston Person
  • Soul Liberation - Rusty Bryant
  • Chicago Breakdown - Gene Ammons
Related release

Soul Liberation was originally released on;

Red Eye Special was originally released on; Goodness! was originally released on; This'll Get To Ya and Tu'gether were originally released on; Light And Lovely was originally released on;
  • Very Saxy, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis/Buddy Tate/Coleman Hawkins/Arnett Cobb, 1959
I'm Just A Lucky So And So was originally released on; Record Hop was originally released on; The Soul Explosion was originally released on; Walkin' was originally released on: Chicago Breakdown was originally released on: 'Nothin' Fu'ther was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover