tracks / musicians related releases

The Prestige Records Story

Various Artists

Initial release : 1999


This 4 CD box set includes a Joe Jones track with Sonny Phillips on organ, a Rusty Bryant track with Melvin Sparks on guitar, a Richard "Groove" Holmes track with Gene Edwards on guitar and Houston Person and Gene Ammons tracks with Sonny Phillips or Leon Spencer on organ. George Freeman plays guitar on one of the Gene Ammons tracks. Also includes a Charles Earland track, a Shirley Scott track and two Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis tracks with Shirley Scott on organ, a Jack McDuff track, a Willis Jackson track with Pat Martino on guitar and Joe Hadrick on drums, a Willis Jackson/Jack McDuff track with Alvin Johnson on drums, and a George Benson track with McDuff on organ.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Subconscious Lee - Lennie Tristano and Lee Konitz
  • Four and One Moore - Al Cohn, Zoot Sims and Allen Eager
  • Twisted - Wardell Gray
  • All God's Chillun Got Rhythm - Sonny Stitt
  • Blues Up and Down - Gene Ammons
  • I'm in the Mood for Love - James Moody
  • Moody's Mood for Love - King Pleasure
  • Twisted - Annie Ross
  • Dig - Miles Davis
  • 'Round Midnight - Jimmy Raney and Stan Getz
  • The Serpent's Tooth - Miles Davis
  • Blue Monk - Thelonious Monk
  • Bags' Groove - Miles Davis
  • My Funny Valentine - Milt Jackson
  • Doxy - Miles Davis
  • Django - Modern Jazz Quartet
  • Disappointed - James Moody
  • Walkin' - Miles Davis Sextet
  • St. Thomas - Sonny Rollins
  • Pent-Up House - Sonny Rollins
  • Well, You Needn't - Miles Davis
  • On a Misty Night - Tadd Dameron
  • If I Were a Bell - Red Garland
  • Nobody's Heart - Gil Evans
  • Russian Lullaby - John Coltrane
  • In the Kitchen - Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis
  • Canadian Sunset - Gene Ammons
  • Trouble Is a Man - Coleman Hawkins
  • Very Saxy - Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis
  • The Seventh Son - Mose Allison
  • G.W. - Eric Dolphy
  • Kirk's Work - Rahsaan Roland Kirk
  • Soul Street - Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Forrest and King Curtis
  • Don't Go to Strangers - Etta Jones
  • Hip Soul - Shirley Scott
  • This'll Get to Ya - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Rock Candy - Jack McDuff
  • Troubled Times - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Ca' Purange (Jungle Soul) - Gene Ammons
  • Sweet Alice Blues - George Benson
  • Misty - Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free) - Illinois Jacquet
  • Smile - Sonny Criss
  • Fried Bananas - Dexter Gordon
  • Jamilah - Houston Person
  • Jungle Strut - Gene Ammons
  • More Today Then Yesterday - Charles Earland
  • Soul Liberation - Rusty Bryant
  • No Way - Boogaloo Joe Jones
  • You Talk That Talk - Gene Ammons
Related release

No Way was originally released on;

  • No Way!, Boogaloo Joe Jones, 1970
More Today Than Yesterday was originally released on; Soul Liberation was originally released on; Jungle Strut was originally released on; You Talk That Talk was originally released on; Rock Candy was originally released on; This'll Get To Ya was originally released on; The Sweet Alice Blues was originally released on; Jamilah was originally released on; Hip Soul was originally released on; Very Saxy was originally released on;
  • Very Saxy, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis/Buddy Tate/Coleman Hawkins/Arnett Cobb, 1959
In The Kitchen was originally released as; Troubled Times was originally released as; Uncertain which version of Misty is included here. It was originally released on a single and LP and then another version was released on an LP;
  • Misty / Groove's Groove, Richard "Groove" Holmes, 1965
  • Soul Message, Richard "Groove" Holmes, 1965
  • Misty, Richard "Groove" Holmes, 1967
Buy from

album cover