tracks / musicians

Birth of The Cool Funk: Vintage Jams & Serious Grooves, Vol. 1

Various Artists

Initial release : 1998


This collection includes a Jimmy Ponder track, a Jimmy McGriff track, an O'Donel Levy track, a Lonnie Smith track a Ramon Morris track with Lloyd Davis on guitar, and a Groove Holmes track with O'Donel Levy on guitar.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Love Me Right - Jimmy Ponder
  • Kilimanjaro Cookout - O'Donel Levy
  • Sizzle Stick - Lonnie Smith
  • The Bird - Jimmy McGriff
  • Mr. Mumbles - Joe Thomas
  • In the Shadows - Bob Berg and Randy Brecker
  • Red Onion - Richard "Groove" Holmes
  • Sweet Sister Funk - Ramon Morris
  • Splatch - Miles Davis
  • 900 Shares of the Blues - Mike Longo
  • Let Me Be the One - Joe Thomas and Hiram Bullock
Related releases

Love Me Right was originally released on;

Kilimanjaro Cookout was originally released on;
  • Simba, O'Donel Levy, 1974
The Bird was originally released on: Sizzle Stick was originally released on; Red Onion was probably originally released on: Sweet Sister Funk was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover