tracks / musicians related releases

Giants Of The Funk Tenor Sax

Various Artists

Initial release : 1981

Prestige 24102

This double LP compilation includes two Rusty Bryant tracks, one with Melvin Sparks on guitar, a Houston Person track with Sonny Phillips on organ, two Willis Jackson tracks with Jack McDuff on organ, a Gene Ammons track with Ted Dunbar on guitar, a Sonny Stitt track with Jack McDuff on organ and Eddie Diehl on guitar, and a Stanley Turrentine track with Lloyd Davis on guitar. This collection was subsequently released as part of a 3 CD set.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Hittin' the Jug - Gene Ammons
  • 'Nothin' Fu'ther - Sonny Sitt
  • Red Eye Special - Rusty Bryant and Seldon Powell
  • This'll Get to Ya - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Chains of Love - Houston Person/Babe Clarke
  • Wade in the Water - Johnny Griffin
  • Tu' Gether - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Walkin' - Stanley Turrentine
  • Goodness - Houston Person
  • Soul Liberation - Rusty Bryant
  • Chicago Breakdown - Gene Ammons
Related release

Soul Liberation was originally released on;

Red Eye Special was originally released on; Goodness! was originally released on; This'll Get To Ya and Tu'gether were originally released on; Walkin' was originally released on: Chicago Breakdown was originally released on: 'Nothin' Fu'ther was originally released on; The Giants Of The Funk Tenor Sax compilation was subsequently included in the CD set:
album cover

Buy as part of an expanded
CD set from

album cover