tracks / musicians related releases

Mod Jazz

Various Artists

Initial release : 1996

Kent (UK)

This compilation, of tracks from Prestige, Fantasy and Riverside albums, includes a Shirley Scott track, a Jack McDuff track, a Johnny "Hammond" Smith track, a Sonny Stitt track with Jack MdDuff on organ, a Joe Jones track, a Freddie McCoy track, a Charles Earland track with Melvin Sparks on guitar, a Willis Jackson track with Joe Hadrick on drums, and a Rusty Bryant tracks with Melvin Sparks on guitar.

Tracks / Musicians

  • Soul Shoutin' - Shirley Scott
  • Collard Greens - Freddie McCoy
  • Tengo Tango - Cannonball Adderley Sextet
  • Why Don't You Do Right? - Mark Murphy
  • Money's Gettin' Cheaper - Jimmy Witherspoon
  • Step Out and Git It - Nomos
  • Theme from 'The Carpetbaggers' - Jack McDuff
  • Theme from "N.Y.P.D." - Johnny "Hammond" Smith
  • Whip It on Me - Billy Hawks
  • Evil Ways - Cal Tjader
  • Yeh, Yeh! - Mongo Santamaria
  • Watermelon Man - Mongo Santamaria
  • The Seventh Son - Mose Allison
  • I'm Ready - Otis Spann
  • Pool Shark - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Soul Shack - Sonny Stitt
  • Filthy McNasty - Eddie Jefferson
  • Love Me Right - Jimmy Witherspoon
  • I've Got Your Number - Pat Bowie
  • Black Talk - Charles Earland
  • Mama Rufus - Merced Blue Notes
  • Soul Liberation - Rusty Bryant
  • Games - Boogaloo "Joe" Jones
  • Kenny's Theme - Kenny Burrell
  • Theme from "The Pink Panther" - Benny Golson Big Band
Related release

Theme From The Carpetbaggers was originally released on;

  • The Dynamic, Brother Jack McDuff Quartet with the big band of Benny Golson, 1964
Soul Shack was originally released on; Soul Shoutin' originally released on; Black Talk was originally released on; Soul Liberation was originally released on; Games was originally released on; Theme From NYPD was originally released on; Pool Shark was originally released on; Collared Greens was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover

album cover